ACEC/MN 2018 Engineering Excellence Award Winners Announced!

January 29, 2018
ACEC/MN celebrated its 51st Annual Engineering Excellence Awards at a gala on January 26, 2018. The event drew over 250 attendees to the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest in Brooklyn Center. The evening began with Master of Ceremonies Brad Hamilton of MnDOT welcoming members, clients and guests to the event, followed by a brief address from current president Tim Korby, PE of Donohue & Associates, Inc. See below for an event photo gallery.

The Engineering Excellence Awards Program recognizes engineering achievements that exhibit the highest degree of merit and ingenuity. Entries
were judged based on originality and innovation; future value to the engineering profession; social, economic and sustainable design considerations; complexity; and meeting the client’s needs.

The Grand Conceptor Award,
which recognizes the highest scoring project by the judging panel, as well as The People’s Choice prize, awarded to the firm that received the highest number of votes by banquet attendees, was awarded to HDR & COWI for the St. Croix Crossing project. This is the first time the same firm has won both awards in the competition.

In addition to the 8 Grand Awards, 16 engineering projects received Honor Awards. *See a complete list of award winners below. Contact Kristine Cassidy at or 952/593-5533 for project descriptions and photographs. Congratulations to all the winning firms!

Thank you to our Circle of Excellence Sponsors!


Thank you to the following Sponsors:

Barr Engineering Co.
Boulay, CPAs & Advisors
Braun Intertec Corporation
Chartwell Financial Advisory, Inc.
DeWitt Mackall Crounse & Moore S.C.
Heley Duncan & Melander
Hiway Federal Credit Union
Meagher & Geer, PLLP
Meyer Borgman Johnson
Purdue Awsumb & Baudler P.A.
SRF Consulting Group, Inc.

Michaud Cooley Erickson
Stonebrooke Engineering, Inc.

Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
BKBM Engineers, Inc.
Cobb, Strecker, Dunphy & Zimmerman, Inc.
Concrete Pavement Association
Marriott Minneapolis West
Minnesota Builders Exchange
Oak Marsh Golf Club
Short Elliott Hendrickson Inc. 
Steen Engineering

Special Thanks
ARC Document Solutions, Signage
Maple Lane Media, Event Technology
The First Impressions Group, Printing

Here are our 2018 Grand Award winners:

Firm and project:
American Engineering Testing, Inc. & Ericksen Roed & Associates, Inc. – Downtown East, Minneapolis, MN
Donohue & Associates, Inc. – A Utility of the Future > Making St. Cloud GREATER, St. Cloud, MN
HDR & COWI – St. Croix Crossing, Oak Park Heights, MN and St. Joseph, WI
HGA Architects and Engineers – United Methodist Church of the Resurrection, Leawood, KS
Kimley-Horn – Hennepin/Lyndale Avenue Reconstruction, Minneapolis, MN
Kimley-Horn – MSP Terminal 1-Lindbergh Landside Expansion, St. Paul, MN
SRF Consulting Group, Inc. – I-90 and US 61 Interchange, Dresbach, MN
WSB & Associates, Inc. – Highway 371 Four Lane Expansion, Nisswa, Pequot Lakes, and Jenkins, MN


Here are our 2018 Honor Award winners:

Firm and project:
Alliant Engineering, Inc. – Central Park Commons, Eagan, MN
Bolton & Menk, Inc. – Hastings Riverfront Renaissance Improvements, Hastings, MN
Bolton & Menk, Inc. – Southeast Wadena Street and Utility Improvements, Wadena, MN
Bolton & Menk, Inc. – Trunk Highway 30 Utility Improvements, Pipestone, MN
Kimley-Horn – Levee Road and Riverfront Trail Project, Red Wing, MN
LHB, Inc. – Impacts of Office Plug Load Reduction Strategies, Various cities in MN
Short Elliot Hendrickson Inc. – Cedar Grove Transit Station, Eagan, MN
Short Elliot Hendrickson Inc. – Sperry Communication Tower, Eagan, MN
Short Elliot Hendrickson Inc. – St. Paul Downtown Airport Pavement Reconstruction, St. Paul, MN
Short Elliot Hendrickson Inc. – TH 61 and TH 97 Roundabouts, Forest Lake, MN
Stantec – Beaver Island Trail, Phase 3, St. Cloud, MN
Stantec – Cottage Grove Interim Water Treatment Facilities, Cottage Grove, MN
Stonebrooke Engineering, Inc.  – Point Douglas Trail, Hastings, MN
TKDA – TH 610 Competition Design-Build, Maple Grove, MN
Ulteig Engineers – Douglas Trail Substation, Rochester, MN
Wenck – City of Afton Wastewater Treatment Plant, Afton, MN